This online shop is using cookies to give you the best shopping experience. Thereby for example the session information or language setting are stored on your computer. Without cookies the range of the online shop's functionality is limited. If you don't agree, please click here.

MALOJA LAYA LOOKBOOK
SUMMER 2020

Our digital maloja online Lookbook offers you a completely new way to discover the collection. Get an overview of the entire product range of "Laya - Where the Mountains are".

LAYA SUMMER 2020
THE NEW MALOJA COLLECTION

Laya - "Where the Mountains are"

Bhutan - the kingdom of happiness, the highest mountain range on earth, over 70% forested area, cheerful, friendly people with a reverence for tradition and at the same time openness to modernity - there is hardly any other country on earth better suited to represent the maloja philosophy in a collection than this natural paradise in the Himalayas.

A small, Buddhist country, nestled in high mountains, with a population of less than a million, Bhutan was completely shielded from the outside world until about half a century ago and has thus preserved centuries-old values, traditions and way of life to this day.

During the gentle opening to the outside world, industrial growth and the monetary prosperity of the population was not the main focus, but rather the then ruling king declared "gross national happiness" to be the highest goal of the government. Thus, at the centre of all far-reaching government decisions are sustainable economic development, environmental protection, the preservation and promotion of traditions and values, and good, humane government and business management.

In the midst of this already sheltered country there is a village at 3800m, which can only be reached on foot and is still in its original state, called "Laya", which means "where the mountains are" and which gave its name to the new maloja collection. The inhabitants of the village, originally yak nomads who immigrated from Tibet, preserve ancient traditions and customs and dress in fascinating traditional costumes, whose stripe look and wrapping technique has directly influenced several pieces in this year's maloja collection.

Despite the traditional way of life in this remote mountain village, the population also quite naturally uses useful, newer technologies such as electricity or even mobile phones, builds new houses and there is even a road to Laya soon to be built. The maloja Laya collection combines traditional Bhutanese patterns, colours and symbolism and centuries-old clothing style with highly technical, state-of-the-art functional materials, thus representing the same synergy of tradition and modernity as Laya itself.

 

 

 

Impressions of the Layaps' daily life, such as the setting sun, the monks' clothing, the intense blue sky, baskets full of spices in the markets, inspired the colour palette of the Laya collection to create melodious names like 'golden sun', 'red monk', 'night sky' or 'chili'.

The Bhutanese garments Kira, for women, and Gho, for men, which are equal in tradition and value to the dirndl and lederhosen in Bavaria , are made of hand-woven, colourful panels of fabric, which are artfully wrapped, which is picked up in the Laya collection by block-stripe print, wrap-around look in the dirndl jacket, and a casually wide culotte, inspired by the wrap skirts of the Laya women.

The fascinating, old-established weaving patterns and geometric colour patterns that can be found on houses, are the inspiration for the ethnic print in the Laya collection pieces, and mythical characters of the venerable animals of Bhutan, such as snow lion and garuda, adorn elbows, belts or T-shirts.

This year, the traditional maloja star has been replaced by the symbolic heart, which can be found throughout the Laya women's collection as print, ornamental embroidery or geometrically abstract quilting pattern.

The plant world, the legendary lotus, cypresses and forests inspired the maloja creative team not only to create print patterns and colour choices, but also to incorporate even more renewable natural fibres such as hemp, organic cotton, yak and merino wool and even silk into the collection production.

The combination of a wonderful country and its inhabitants, who combine elements from East and West, tradition and modernity, Yin and Yang, and who enjoy life, nature and letting go of constraints and stress, is reflected in this wonderful new maloja collection.

 

Laya - 'where the mountains are'. Who wouldn't want to be there too?

Maloja Philosophy

Maloja started out as a philosophy of life and stands for so much more than just an outdoor clothing label. Maloja embodies joie de vivre, beautiful moments shared with good friends, created through curiosity for life, and the courage to embark on unconventional  journeys.

Social & Environment

To take full responsibility for all actions as an employer was never just a mainstream trend for Maloja but rather a matter of course.

MALOJA FLAGSHIP STORE ASCHAU

Welcome and hello at Sportschrank, Aschau, the regional meeting point for all loyal Maloja fans and all of you who wish to become thus. Stop by for a cup of coffee, and enjoy browsing through the entire current Maloja collection in a casual and friendly atmosphere.

MALOJA CATALOGUE

The collection „Laya – Where the Mountains Are“ is inspired by a country where everything revolves around the happiness and contentment of its people. Furthermore it is about Bhutan, a country where everything revolves around the happiness and contentment of its people.

MALOJA LAYA LOOKBOOK
WINTER 20/21

Unser digitales maloja online Lookbook bietet euch völlig neue Möglichkeit die Kollektion zu entdecken. Verschafft euch einen Überblick über die gesamte Produktpalette von „Laya - Where the Mountains are“.

LAYA WINTER 20/21
DIE NEUE MALOJA KOLLEKTION

Laya - "Where the Mountains are"

Bhutan - das Königreich des Glücks, das höchste Gebirge der Erde, über 70% bewaldete Fläche, fröhliche, freundliche Menschen mit Ehrfurcht vor Tradition und gleichzeitig Offenheit für die Moderne - kaum ein Land der Erde eignet sich besser, die maloja Philosophie in einer Kollektion zu repräsentieren, als dieses Naturparadies im Himalaya.

Ein kleines, buddhistisches Land, eingebettet in hohen Bergen,  mit einer Einwohnerzahl unter der Millionengrenze, war Bhutan bis vor etwa einem halben Jahrhundert komplett von der Aussenwelt abgeschirmt und hat sich somit jahrhundertealte Werte, Traditionen und Lebensart bis heute erhalten. 

Bei der langsamen Öffnung nach aussen wurde jedoch nicht das industrielle Wachstum und der monetäre Wohlstand der Bevölkerung in den Vordergrund gestellt, sondern vom damaligen regierenden König das “Brutto-Nationalglück” zum höchsten Ziel der Regierung erklärt. Im Zentrum aller weitreichenden Regierungsentscheidungen stehen somit eine nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung, Umweltschutz, das Erhalten und Fördern von Traditionen und Werten und eine gute, menschliche Regierungs- und Unternehmensführung.

Inmitten dieses ohnehin behüteten Landes gibt es ein auf 3800m hoch gelegenes, nur zu Fuss zu erreichendes, und noch immer ursprüngliches Dorf namens “Laya”, was soviel bedeutet wie “wo die Berge sind” und der neuen Kollektion ihren Namen gab. Die Bewohner des Dorfes, ursprünglich aus Tibet eingewanderte Yak-Nomaden, bewahren uralte Traditionen und Bräuche und kleiden sich in faszinierende Trachten, deren Streifen-Look und Wickeltechnik mehrere Stücke der diesjährigen maloja Kollektion direkt beeinflusst hat. 

Trotz der traditionellen Lebensweise in diesem abgelegenen Bergdorf, benutzt die Bevölkerung jedoch auch ganz selbstverständlich nützliche, neuere Technologien wie Strom oder sogar Mobiltelefone, baut neue Häuser und es soll bald sogar eine Strasse nach Laya entstehen. Die maloja Laya Kollektion kombiniert traditionelle bhutanische Muster, Farben und Symbolik und Jahrhunderte alten Bekleidungsstil mit hochtechnischen, state-of-the-art Funktionsmaterialien und repräsentiert damit die gleiche Synergie aus Tradition und Moderne wie Laya selbst. 

 

 

Eindrücke des täglichen Lebens der Layaps, wie die untergehende Sonne, die Bekleidung der Mönche, der intensiv blaue Himmel, Körbe voller Gewürze auf den Märkten, inspirierten die Farbpalette der Laya Kollektion zu wohlklingenden Namen wie ‘golden sun’, ‘red monk’, ‘night sky’ oder ‘Chili’. 

Die in Tradition und Wert dem Dirndl und Lederhosen gleichzustellenden bhutanischen Kleidungsstücke Kira, für Frauen, und Gho, für Männer, sind aus handgewebten, farbenprächtigen Stoffbahnen hergestellt, die kunstvoll gewickelt werden, was in der Laya Kollektion durch Blockstreifen-Print, Wickeloptik bei der Dirndl-Jacke, und einer lässig weiten Culotte, angelehnt an die Wickelröcke der Laya-Frauen, aufgegriffen wird.

Die faszinierenden, alt-überlieferten Webmuster und teilweise auch an Häusern vorzufindenden geometrischen Farbmuster sind die Inspiration für den Ethno-Print in den Laya-Kollektionsteilen, und mythische Charaktere der ehrwürdigen Tiere Bhutans, wie Schneelöwe und Garuda, zieren Ellbogen, Gürtel oder T-Shirts.

Der traditionelle maloja-Stern ist in diesem Jahr durch das symbolträchtige Herz ersetzt worden, welches sich als Druck, Zierstickerei oder geometrisch abstraktes Steppmuster durch die gesamte Laya-Frauen-Kollektion zieht.

Die Pflanzenwelt, der sagenumwobene Lotus, Zypressen und Wälder inspirierten das maloja Kreativ-Team nicht nur zu Druckmustern und Farbwahl, sondern auch dazu, noch mehr nachwachsende Naturfasern wie Hanf, BioBaumwolle, Yak- und Merinowolle und sogar Seide in die Kollektions-Produktion einfliessen zu lassen.

Die Kombination eines wunderbaren Landes und seiner Bewohner, die Elemente aus Ost und West, Tradition und Moderne, Yin und Yang verbinden, sowie Freude am Leben, der Natur und dem Loslassen von Zwängen und Stress haben, spiegelt sich in dieser wunderbaren, neuen maloja Kollektion wider. 

 

Laya - ‘where the mountains are’. Wer möchte nicht auch dort sein?

Maloja Philosophie

Maloja begann als Lebensphilosophie und steht für so viel mehr als nur eine Outdoorbekleidungsmarke. Maloja verkörpert Lebensfreude, schöne Momente mit guten Freunden, die durch die Neugier auf das Leben, und den Mut, unkonventionelle Wege zu beschreiten, entstehen.

Sozial & Umwelt

Als Arbeitgeber für alle Taten die volle Verantwortung zu übernehmen, verstand sich für Maloja nie als Mainstream-Trend, sondern von Anbeginn an als Selbstverständlichkeit.

MALOJA FLAGSHIP STORE ASCHAU

Sportschrank maloja Flagship-Store Aschau – der regionale Treffpunkt für alle treuen maloja Fans und alle, die es noch werden wollen. Schaut vorbei auf eine gemütliche Tasse Kaffe und genießt das Stöbern durch die gesamte aktuelle maloja Kollektion in ungezwungener und freundlicher Atmosphäre.

MALOJA KATALOG

Die Kollektion „Laya – Where the Mountains Are“ ist inspiriert von einem Land, in dem sich alles um das Glück und die Zufriedenheit seiner Einwohner dreht. Denn in Bhutan steht das Wohlergehen der Menschen über wirtschaftlichem Erfolg.